Summer hit me!

It has been quite a while since I thought of  having a tiny makeover made to the en suite bathroom of our apartment. Then…summer hit me!!! Holidays began for me in the end of June so there was no excuse for not doing what I had in mind. The theme…easy!!! Since I love the sea and everything nautical, I decided to keep a slight red, white and blue color scheme to my project…

The Before...

So…keeping in mind that I had to spend as little as possible and maximize the impact, I chose few, but crucial elements to add to the room. I fell in love(!!!) with the new MYRVIKEN hand towels at IKEA as soon as I laid eyes on them! Plain perfect!!! I was actually looking for red or blue to complete the red ones I already had…but found something a thousand times better!!!

Items used...

Items used...

I also added a seagull decor that I found from a local shop. I added two red stripes with some red paint and a thin brush so it would match the whole concept! (I know, it’s me going crazy over the tiny details again!!!)

Items used...

During my visit at IKEA, I also found the perfect bathmat to add. RAMSKAR bathmat has the exact dimensions that fitted the bathroom and did not have stripes on it (as I would like to be able to change the theme during Autumn-Winter time).

Items used...

Sooo……….After removing all items I had lying around in the bathroom, I pulled out the unit that’s in between both sinks, scrubbed the top surface as it was dirty from liquid soap and toothpaste and painted it iridescent white using Winsor & Newton Galeria Acrylic Mediums (Iridescent Medium)! That gave the top a pearlescent subtle look which I adore!!! I also added two coats of varnish to the wooden surface to make it waterproof! That’s done!

The Before...

After leaving the unit outside to dry for several hours (summer sun did all the work!!!), I put it back in its place. Needless to say that I cleaned the whole en suite during the drying period…Also moved the two towel hooks from the sides of the sinks to the front.

The After...

I then added my little friend to the porcelain shelf along with a glass pieced candle holder with a red candle. Made all the difference!

Details...

I washed the hand towels and placed them on the hooks…..easy as that…

The After...

…and added the two plastic high-gloss VARIERA boxes that I  already had, again from IKEA. Also added the red bath towels that I have and completed the look!

The After...

And this is my first ever post!!! Wow! Let me know what you think!!!

The After...

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Morena's Corner

Taking Time Out to Craft

Plucking Daisies

Where Creativity is Always in Bloom

aandhcrafts

scanncut enthusiast, applelover53 youtuber and blogger

Images By Heather M's Blog

Scrapbooking and svg files for Sure Cuts a Lot

papercraftbliss

Paper + Craft = Bliss

peanut & olive

jewelry, life and things in general

Saved By Love Creations

Crafty DIY Tutorials for Polymer Clay, Home Decor, Gifts and More

worthygoods

hand-tailored gear steeped in Maine style

Kate's Creative Space

ideas, projects and beautiful things

Kelleigh Ratzlaff Designs

my life. my passions. my designs.

Life'n'Things

learning from experiences

Kate's Creative Space

ideas, projects and beautiful things

Why Buy it? DIY it.

for the do it yourself enthusiast

Live & Talk about it!

just about anything & everything...

M&J Blog

just about anything & everything...

