Sails Away…!

One of the latest orders of christening invitations that I completed was a nautical one!

Hooray!!! My kind of stuff!!! You know how I love anything nautical!!!

And…

…being a fan & creator of 3D-structural invitations and cards for the past 2 years, I just had to recreate a boat or something similar.

After a brief search on related die cutters I came up with the following amazing idea that I soon constructed!!!

So, without further delay, let’s see how I got from this…

Mayfair Boat DieDSCN0808

…to THIS!!!

Nautical Christening Invitation

My trusted and truly amazing companion, my Big Shot Express which I bought about 4 years ago from the UK, combined with the Mayflower Boat Cutting Dies from Lifestyle Crafts did all the hard work, along with some imagination on my part of course!

Firstly, I printed out nautical blue stripey scrapbook paper and the invitation saying (which is in Greek of cource!) on thick 300gsm cardstock.

I then used the boat die and the stripey cardstock to create the boat’s bottom part. I aligned the stripes with the die and used low tack tape to keep the card in place while it was passing through the Big Shot Express.

Here’s a peak on my little but invaluable assistant!!!

DSCN0807

When the bottom part of the invitation was done, I measured and cut the top piece -the sail- shaping it into a large triangle to fit on top of the boat. I did not use any of the remaining two dies in the box as I knew the sail would be too small to fit any kind of decent lettering on it (you can see the sail die on the second top photo)! Can be used alternatively as a favor box though (reminder to self!!!).

As soon as the cutting procedure was done, I found myself in the dilemma of how to assemble the two pieces without having any permanent bonding so that the customer could disassemble the invites and send some abroad if she wished.

Puzzling was soon over with a little help from my hubby who recommended cutting up two slits to the triangle so it would slide onto the boat shape on the front and back side…Problem Solved!!!

As soon as I saw the result I knew that it was a winner!!!

Customer, happy!!!

ME, happier!!!

It’s one of those days that a good idea becomes an amazing reality and all things seem to just fall into place………………ahhhhh!

Bigger photo for your eyes only! 🙂NAUTICAL INVITATION

If you wish to see more of my creations, you can head over to my Facebook page The Craft Box and if you like what you see then let me know!!!

XOXO

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Morena's Corner

Taking Time Out to Craft

Plucking Daisies

Where Creativity is Always in Bloom

aandhcrafts

scanncut enthusiast, applelover53 youtuber and blogger

Images By Heather M's Blog

Scrapbooking and svg files for Sure Cuts a Lot

papercraftbliss

Paper + Craft = Bliss

peanut & olive

jewelry, life and things in general

Saved By Love Creations

Crafty DIY Tutorials for Polymer Clay, Home Decor, Gifts and More

worthygoods

hand-tailored gear steeped in Maine style

Kate's Creative Space

ideas, projects and beautiful things

Kelleigh Ratzlaff Designs

my life. my passions. my designs.

Life'n'Things

learning from experiences

Kate's Creative Space

ideas, projects and beautiful things

Why Buy it? DIY it.

for the do it yourself enthusiast

Live & Talk about it!

just about anything & everything...

M&J Blog

just about anything & everything...

